Posted by: nastypen | November 7, 2008

Shameless Plugging

I have always been raising the banner high for cartoonists and for our chosen and much-derided field of cartooning. So, I shall have a lecture….not a workshop…a lecture on the editorial cartoons of the country’s very first National Artist Fernando Amorsolo. I know. I know. I should be bitchslapped for my chutzpah.

The Lopez Memorial Museum, with the support of First Philippine Holdings Corp., hosts cartoonist Jose Santos Ardivilla on November 15, Saturday, from 2 to 4 pm to discuss the significance of Fernando Amorsolo’s pen-and-ink cartoons and other editorial cartoons in a lecture called “The Opposite of Pleasant”.

Amorsolo vividly portrayed the social ills of Manila society in Ganito Pala sa Maynila a popular comic strip during the American occupation of the Philippines written by eminent Tagalog writer Lopez K. Santos and serialized in the satirical magazine Bagong Lipang Kalabaw magazine from 1922 to 1924 and Kiko at Angge published in sister magazine Telambang a few months ahead.

Ardivilla has lectured on political cartooning, mass-produced art during the American colonial period in the Philippines, and the cultural value of political cartoons and Filipino komiks. He represented the Philippines in the Nihon Shimbon Kyokai and Confederation of ASEAN Journalists, and in the Witty World Conference. Apart from coming up with exhibitions and articles for various publications, Ardivilla teaches at the University of the Philippines in Manila.

Date November 15, 2008 (Saturday)

Time 2 to 4 pm

Venue Lopez Memorial Museum, G/F Benpres Bldg., Ortigas Center, Pasig

Fee P120, Discount for students group of at least 30 persons

The talk complements the ongoing exhibition Telltale: The Artist as Storyteller, Amorsolo as Coauthor which will run until April 4, 2009. Lecture fee is P120. The Lopez Memorial Museum is at the ground floor of Benpres Building, Exchange Road, Pasig City. Museum days and hours are Mondays-Saturdays, 8am-5pm, except holidays. For info, call 6312417.

On some personal notes:

I hope my students DO NOT watch….because I can speak and have spoken about this in the classroom…FOR FREE.

I DO NOT want my sister and her husband to watch. I DO NOT want my friends to go, either.

I am blogging about this because I want to reach out to the kind strangers that lurk in my blog (about 2 of you) to perhaps entice you to a Saturday afternoon on art……wahahahahahah…..I just blogged this on my mother’s birthday so that at least she has something to be proud of her son….i can hear my mother’s thoughts now “whoopeeddoooo….my son will lecture at a museum…he could have been a great lawyer or diplomat…but no, he wants to be a lecturer and a cartoonist, too.” Of course, mommy, I want to draw cartoons and I enjoy teaching, but my dream has always been to be a beauty title holder like you.  (Cue Beauty Queen Wave!)

The organizers asked for a copy of my photo. I could send them one of my camwhoring portraits like this one:

oooh evil! Devil signs!

….but this is Amorsolo! I should send something pertaining to Amorsolo’s general quest for the rural idyll. So, I chose the photo taken of me at the Paoay Lake. Yep. This is the most Amorsolo-esque portrait of mine:

But in reality, I wanted to send them this photo to see if anybody would actually show up if this beauty would be the one to lecture:

Aaaahhhhh yes…..Amorsolo would have wept in awe.

Leave a Reply

Categories

