Posted by: nastypen | February 26, 2008

A Death in the Family

My grandmother died a little over an hour ago at 4pm.  I called my mom in UAE.  It had to be me to tell my mother that her mother passed.  It’s not a really great feeling.  I choked as I heard my mother pause and started sobbing.  I remember her telling me that my dad is dead back in 1999 and I knew she was in a daze yet hurt when she told me that.  I don’t think anybody wants to be the bearer of the grim reaper’s news.  

I called my aunt and she was sniffling and sobbing.  My cousin was crying on the phone.  I thought of my grandfather.  He must be devastated.  He was.  I was told he inconsolable.

She has been sick for quite some time.  That woman has had a hard life.  Growing up dirt poor with numerous children in a life I can only watch in a Lino Brocka film.

When I was young I was fascinated by her long white hair and her tired eyes.  She looked too exhausted to be an enkantada yet she seemed to be gliding.

The last time I saw and spoke to Lola was last December, after Christmas.  Here are some of the last shots I took of her:

Mom is showing my grandparents a photo of my sister’s wedding.

I took this shot of my grandparents nonplussed by the party and were contently watching TV:

Good-bye, Lola.  May you finally know rest and peace.

Responses

  1. our hearts and prayers are with you

  2. i pray for your lola…

    …be strong for your mum …

  3. My prayer and condolences…

  4. May the wonderful memories
    of your Lola’s love
    be with you and comfort you
    at this time.

    With Deepest Sympathy…

  5. napadaan ako sa blog mo. may patay pala. ang lungkot. my condolences.

  6. Our condolences to you and your family – Myles and Ria

  7. my condolences.
    *hugs*


Leave a Reply

Categories

