Posted by: nastypen | January 1, 2008

Let’s Start With Art

It’s 2008. What was the first thing you did? Well, I smelled the smoke from the firecrackers but I didn’t go out of my room. I started by reading one of my favorite authors, Ecclesiastes. I watched and sang along to Weezer, Dee-Lite, Bjork and Tori Amos videos.

I also did this.

Alien Little Red Riding Hood

I call this Little Alien Red Riding Hood. This is purely digital art. This is my wallpaper right now. I did this in between screenings of The Sopranos episodes just to let the TV and DVD player rest for a bit.

It’s a cheap form of therapy for me. When was I happiest when I was young? The solitary acts of reading comics, watching cartoons and drawing. So might as well hold on to these as I trudge on the big bad world of adulthood.

In this art work, I am celebrating my relationship with cartoons. I did not know the name of the artist until recently.

I have been beguiled by the works of Art Lozzi before I was sucked in the world of Picasso, Van Gogh, et al. Art Lozzi was a background artist for the 1950s to 1960s Hanna-Babera cartoons of the Flintstones, Yogi Bear et al. I have been enticed by his hues and textures before I knew what they were called in the first place. His techniques are astounding. If you love color, this guy is a master.

I paid homage to Art Lozzi as well as my fascination and inclination towards contemporary Vector art. This art work has been festering in my head for a long time now and I will do a series as well. What am I going to do with these? Will I print these on shirts, bags, or mousepads or whatnot and sell them?

I have no idea. I just happen to enjoy the process. That’s what matters for now.

Isn’t it great that the word “Art” can be found within “Start?” So, is this a sign that it is a good start?

Can’t stop the flood, bitches.

Leave a Reply

Categories

