Posted by: nastypen | November 4, 2007

Once Upon a Time

So, I was rummaging through my books and a picture fell from my old copy of the graphic novel Black Orchid by Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean. It was I believe the very first picture of my partner and I back in freshman year at the University of the Philippines.

Three words: “Visible Collar Bone.”

Back when we were twinks

Breathe in. Breathe out. Yes, that was me and that was him. We’re still together but we’re no longer….that.

I am holding a papier mache penguin. That was from my very first ever UP Lantern Parade. That year the theme for the College of Fine Arts was “Toys.” The block I was in was in discussion. The rich and classy ones wanted a lego float featuring the hit Disney animation feature at that time: Pocahontas. The group of the geeks and weirdos (I belong there) did our own humble homage of this:

i love this.

Guess who won “best float?” And to think freshmen students bagged that prize, too! Such a feat! Such an honor!

I was so proud of my group mates’ ideas, drive and humor that I took one of the penguins home with me. Alas, that penguin is gone now. I wish it was still with me so that I could have a photo taken with Addie as an update of our very first photo together.

That photo could be summed up in three words also: “Bigger Man Boobs.”

Responses

  1. OMG! Im speechless

  2. Oh my God! Kalayaan diet 🙂

  3. Wow! Gal;ing naman ng group nyo sir!!!!!

    grabeH… Ang Payat nyo dyan!!!!

    Mas Payat pa kayo dati kaysa sa akin ah! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

