Posted by: nastypen | September 18, 2007

Bjork is My Buddha

I LOVE Bjork even before I knew how to properly say her name in 1993. It’s not because of her weird hair, nor edgy music videos (but I love those, too), but the lyrics of her songs snagged me.

My friend Melvin mentioned to me that once you make fun of today’s music, you’re old. But I AM old. And yes, emo has nothing…NOTHING…. compared to Bjork. Those asymmetrical wedge haircut or blunt bangs are nothing compared to Bjork’s magical realism hairstyles. And the emo songs? Please! Whines!!!! Contrived! You want pain? Uncertainty? Cynicism? Take it away, Bjork!

Big Time Sensuality:

i don’t know my future after this weekend
and i don’t want to

Hyperballad:

it’s real early morning
no-one is awake
i’m back at my cliff
still throwing things off
i listen to the sounds they make
on their way down
i follow with my eyes ’til they crash
imagine what my body would sound like
slamming against those rocks

and when it lands
will my eyes
be closed or open?

i’ll go through all this
before you wake up
so i can feel happier
to be safe up here with you

Bjork has a way of disarming us with her songs via her music videos. No other artist has had a consistency of innovation in music videos like Bjork. Her persona as a quirky pixie from Iceland tends to mask her songs as just an anomaly in pop music. But Bjork is not just an anomaly or one of the token weird one. Quite a number of her songs are all about yearning and inner turmoil. Bjork is not fun nor flighty. She is hardly Gwen Stefani and Beyonce with their hollow ditties.

Bjork is one of those people that baffles us. But just listen to her words and you will see how substantial an artist Bjork is.

But one song of hers rings to be my most favorite. This is the theme song from Dancer in the Dark, one of the most miserable films I have ever seen. By the way, she won the Cannes Best Actress Award in 2000 for this harrowing film of emotional upheavals.

First, I Have Seen It All is a duet with Radiohead’s Thom Yorke. So, the cool factor of this song is astronomical. Then it became even better.

The song I have seen it all was nominated for an Oscar in which Bjork performed in that infamous swan dress. I love her even more because of that.

The first time I heard this song, I was filled with white light of revelation. This is not a song about bitterness of being jaded. “I’ve seen it all” has a certain wisdom to it. Remember, my favorite book in the Bible is Ecclesiastes, and if most of his words were tuned into a song, Bjork did it successfully with this one. Ecclesiastes basically says why should we worry? Everything has been discovered under the sun. And controlling life is like “chasing the wind.”

“I’ve Seen It All”

I’ve seen it all, I have seen the trees,
I’ve seen the willow leaves dancing in the breeze
I’ve seen a man killed by his best friend,
And lives that were over before they were spent.
I’ve seen what I was – I know what I’ll be
I’ve seen it all – there is no more to see!

You haven’t seen elephants, kings or Peru!
I’m happy to say I had better to do
What about China? Have you seen the Great Wall?
All walls are great, if the roof doesn’t fall!

And the man you will marry?
The home you will share?

To be honest, I really don’t care…

You’ve never been to Niagara Falls?
I have seen water, its water, that’s all…
The Eiffel Tower, the Empire State?
My pulse was as high on my very first date!
Your grandson’s hand as he plays with your hair?
To be honest, I really don’t care…

I’ve seen it all, I’ve seen the dark
I’ve seen the brightness in one little spark.
I’ve seen what I chose and I’ve seen what I need,
And that is enough, to want more would be greed.
I’ve seen what I was and I know what I’ll be
I’ve seen it all – there is no more to see!

You’ve seen it all and all you have seen
You can always review on your own little screen
The light and the dark, the big and the small
Just keep in mind – you need no more at all
You’ve seen what you were and know what you’ll be
You’ve seen it all – there is no more to see!

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Responses

  1. haaha! i like that movie!
    dancer in the dark!

    badtrip nga lang yung ending..

  2. I just saw Bjork, went fullview, then saw the song. I love. Although I haven’t had the chance to actually watch the movie, or her music videos.

    I like her style, and her lyrics are… interesting. Hehe.

    As for music today – ever looked up Brittany (now Nikki) Cleary’s I.M. Me? Sure, it’s as old as 2001, but the first time I heard it, my brain was just this close to exploding from the sheer pointlessness of the lyrics. The sad thing, it’s catchy – in the novelty song kind of way.

  3. it’s oh so quiet 😀

  4. 🙂 Radiohead and Bjork all in one package. I can die happy now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

