Posted by: nastypen | January 26, 2007

I Love You, Lafawnduh

Breathe In, Breathe Out. Ok, I’m trying not to panic here. I’m wearing black today due to today’s drama.

Lafawnduh, my mac laptop, has “died” on me. Friends tell me that her battery needs changing because it’s more than two years old, or could it be the adaptor that’s in the fritz. In all my years with Lafawnduh, this is the only major technical difficulty I experienced with her. It’s a mac so it never crashes turning the monitor blue. I don’t have to rely on control + alt + del.

Oh, Lafawnduh, you have been with me for quite some time now. I’m not giving you up, you just need some tech botox or something. Despite you being old, you’re much better (I want it said in a hyperbolic manner because it is true) than the bulk of PC’s out there. Hey, you’ve accompanied me through years, three oceans, rackets, several time zones and airports, my second job, my relationship. Please revive just in time for my resignation.

I cancelled my dental appointment tomorrow. I’ll be off somewhere to seeking help to revive my poorLafawnduh.

Ok, ok, I bet some of you there have raised eyebrows as to why I am such affected by this technical glitch on a machine. Just like books, I treat Lafawnduh better than a lot of people. Hey, I worked hard and saved money for quite a while to get me Lafawnduh.

Now, don’t accuse me of sexism because I name my stuff after females; my ipod is Shondrella, my stuffed toy polar bear is Minerva Nervosa (cousin of Anorexia Nervosa). Please. My sister gave me this bonsai for a birthday of mine years ago. I named it Walter. By the time she handed it to me, I was watching Lino Brocka‘s camp classic Stardoom on TV starring Walter Navarro. Hence, Walter. But one time I went on a trip and returned to see Walter all shriveled up and dead. Oh well. That plant is the best Walter I ever met in my life. And I named my camera Avedon from one of my most favorite photographers Richard Avedon. I name things that are significant and matter to me. Otherwise I call it “cellphone,” or “bag” or “lubricant.”

I named her Lafawnduh after one of the most beautiful creatures ever to grace cinema. I was laughing my fat ass off when I was watching Napoleon Dynamite years ago and a vision entranced me. Ladies and gentlemen, meet LaFawnduh:

Could it, you're the most beautiful girl in the world?

She is the reason why I watched that movie for at least 5 times with my laughter as loud as the last time. She. Changed. Kip‘s Life. Who’s Kip? Kip is Napoleon Dynamite’s older geek brother. He met Lafawnduh online and she went up to visit him in his home to change his life. This is him waiting for her at the bus station:

Oh, where art thou, my love???

Lafawnduh is a life-changer. Mac changed my life, so what better name to celebrate this with all diva pageantry but to honor that ghetto fabulous diva with green eyeshadow and bangs? Lafawnduh. Hey there are even entries at urbandictionary for that name. My favorite is this one:

Lafawnduh is the term for one’s true love that will last always and forever. Example: Nick proposed to Sarah. He has found his LaFawnduh.

You see? Forever. “Lafawnduh is the best thing that’s ever happened to me,” Kip tells Napoleon. I can relate to that one. the mac laptop is the very best thing that’s ever happened to me, too. Watch the clip here.

Kip and Lafawnduh eventually get it on. I think this is a clip from the DVD. This wasn’t in the movie, but I love you, Lafawnduh.

Let's get it on!!!!!

Aaaaa L’amour…..

Oh well, I am saddened by this technical glitch. Although it could mean that I have time to read now that I have no way to go online and browse through blogs.

Make no mistake, I am saddened by this.

Although I’m looking forward tonight. There will be an informal dinner and it is a milestone for me. But that blog is for another day, depeneding if Lawanduh revives.

Ok, now I’m back to sad.

Responses

  1. baklaaaaaa!!! i messaged the love of your life. taga-cebu pala ang fafa mez! i asked him to meet me, mare. wawa naman ako, i don’t have a hag fag with me. well, wish ko lang. i’m leaving on a jet plane tomorrow.

    thanks for your comments in jher’s blog. yes, we are okay…

  2. Hayyy Bro Bear, I’m wishing that Lafawnduh will be repaired soon. I know how you treasured it as much as you cherished me. Be strong. Hopefully, battery lang ang problema.

  3. Hi!!! It’s been a long time. I’ve been visiting your blog but don’t always leave comments. I just hope Lafawnduh will be OK soon. i just wish i could meet you personally and give you a big hug!

    i just love reading your posts 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

