Posted by: nastypen | December 31, 2006

Entering 2007 with Leopard Spots

New Year. Time. Resolutions. Transitions. These things do not matter to nature, yet we humans relish on the travelling from points A to B. From the old to the new. From the spent to the hopeful. It is this ritualistic hankering for the “better” that makes life more bearable, that chaos can be controlled somehow, that everything has a time, place, and purpose.

If you ask me now, 2006 is a blur. All the miles I travelled. All the dulled senses from the cubicle. All the frustrations and bitterness are still making my wounds all aglow. All the dreams I made and let some of them die. All the laughter thrown to the wind. All the tears quietly shed in that corner of a battered pillow. All those times I stared into deep space wondering what is happening to a life I should have control of.

I look at my suitcase. Atop rests a bag I appropriated from my little sister: a sports bag with leopard spots all over the bag. I told my little sister this is my spiritual bag and I will buy it from her. she gave it to me. It matches my divahood she says.

How apt.

It’s like I’m finally claiming what I know to be true for years: that I am a fierce (more bites than growls) leopard with fabulous spots; fabulous because they are not afraid to change.

That is the basic tenet for my 2007.

I have never been this much expectant of the new year, to tell you frankly. All the new years felt the same way. But I like the numerology of 2007. Add the numbers of “2007” and you get nine. that’s my personal destiny number. So, this is basically a very decisive year for me, a starting point and I cannot wait to saunter in with a fabulous sheen of a new coat with sharpened teeth and clear predatory eyes. I’m better than Catwoman. I don’t need to have a near-death experience to realize my power. Hahahhaaha.

I seem to have this upswell of positive energy in me. I know that this feeling is fleeting and will go away. No, this is not cynicism talking but a realist point of view. The question is “What am i going to do about this?” Shall I lament? or shall I accept that nagging sense of insecurity and just plow through?

I met this statement as I would occasionally pause for reflection:

Your life is often cluttered with useless projects, people, possessions, and memories. When the going gets tough, stand back from the ongoing dramas of your life and assess any situations or relationships which need to be weeded out and ended.

How true.

So, 2007, are you ready for my bite?

I have so much clarity in me now. This moment is like a Buddha moment for me. I’m sorry but I just cannot articulate these emotions. It is like my mind is made of crystal and I can see clearly all the prisms. It is like when you larned something profound from a discarded statement your mom said while combing her hair. It is a lovely feeling and I will need and want to experience again in the future.

I am liking how my 2006 is ending and how 2007 is starting.

Responses

  1. Stick with your plan dear… we can help each other 😉

    Invictus di ba?… You are the master of your fate and the captain of your soul!

  2. “your life is often cluttered with useless projects, people, possessions, and memories. When the going gets tough, stand back from the ongoing dramas of your life and assess any situations or relationships which need to be weeded out and ended. ”

    sir chong i love this statement! saan mo nyo po ito nakuha?


Leave a Reply

Categories

