Posted by: nastypen | December 8, 2006

My Wedding Soundtrack

Went to a wedding yesterday. Despite sounding saccharine thus supplanting my cynicism, the wedding was beautiful. It is great to see two friends who have gone through a lot and been together for so long finally tie the knot. Congratulations, Joanah and Melvin, may your firstborn be triplets. hehehe.

Everybody knows I'm Melvin's first girl!!!!

Nothing satisfies me more than to make a straight man’s skin crawl! hahaha. Albert said this could be a photo for the movie poster of Una Kang Naging Akin! (You were mine first!) See how excited the bridegroom was? And, yes, I did ask for the tiara from the bride but it won’t come off easily. *rasssum frassum* 

I hosted the reception with my virtualgirlfriend. Had to keep the humor clean because there were little children there and the newlyweds’ grandma is there, too. the hardest part was when the throwing of the bouquet bit. Nobody, as in no lady wanted to catch the darn thing! Bitch, had I not been the host, I would have been in that group doing my sumo moves and getting the bouquet!

During the wedding, they had this group belt out songs and the selection was interesting. My eyes widened when they sang that Seasons of Love song from Rent. Now, I’m not a major fan of that musical eventhough the boyfriend and my virtual girlfriend love it to bits. I sat up front, turned aprubtly around and hurled sarcastically “What is that song from that AIDS musical doing inside the Church?!”

Then they sang that sappy love song from Phantom of the Opera! I said out loud, “if they are going to sing something from Miss Saigon, I’m going to scream.” Thankfully, they did not. Melvin and Joanah did not select those songs. They just had a couple of songs in mind. I forgot the wedding march but their entrance to the reception is from The Lord of the Rings soundtrack.

I thought what song would I select for my wedding day?

Well, I jokingly said before that I wanted to sashay in the aisle to the music of the glorious Whitney Houston‘s Run to You. My wedding attrie would be a hooded barong with angel sleeves and instead of a bouquet, I’m bringing a disco ball. And I need a smoke machine, too. My favorite part of Whitney’s music video is this:

I wana run to youuuu-hu hu hooo!!!

So, now you know why I need a cloud machine for my wedding.

But, seriously, I rummaged through the playlist inside my head and thought these would be great for MY wedding:

I love PJ Harvey. One of the best albums for all time is her Stories from the City, Stories from the Sea. Her carrier single “Good Fortune” extols on how beatific it is to be in a relationship with a particular guy.

I feel like a bird of paradise.....

(click photo for the video)

Here’s a samply lyric:

I paint pictures
To remember
You’re too beautiful
To put into words
Like a gypsy
You dance in circles
All around me
And all over the world

I love this song. Click here for lyrics.

Of course, Sinead O’Connor‘s This is to Mother You, must be in the playlist.

This is to mother you......

(Click on the photo for the video)

First time I heard this song was in the early 90s and I immediately had tears welling up in my eyes. I especially love the chorus:

All the pain that you have known, ohh
All the violence in your soul, ohh
All the wrong things that you have done, ohh
I will take from you when I come

And what better way to be in a relationship but in a nurturing way only a mother can know? ‘Nuff said.

Everytime We say Good-bye was originally sung by Ella Fitzgerald. But I want Annie Lennox‘s cover version in my wedding.

Annie, I love youuuuuu!!!!!

(Click photo for the video)

I saw this from Derek Jarman‘s film adaptation of Christopeher Marlowe‘s Edward II. It was an interpretation of a play about politics and abandonment set in a time of contemporary crises of homosexual’s need for equality and the HIV/AIDS issue. I like the tender scene between the king and his favored knight/lover as they were serenaded by Annie Lennox. Here’s a blogger’s discussion on that film. I happen to like Jarma because of his unflinching and uncompromising vision. I read his memoirs before. He’s a great artist. He is one of those people who saw also the talent of the amazing Tilda Swinton, who is in the movie as the conniving and bitter queen. Here’s an interesting article regarding the movie.

And here’s a sample lyric:

Everytime we say goodbye, I die a little,
Everytime we say goodbye, I wonder why a little,
Why the gods above me, who must be in the know.
Think so little of me, they allow you to go.

It’s not really a song for the departed. It’s a song of longing and that moment when you have to say goodbye to your lover because you have to go to work, that kind of separation. Here’s the lyrics to thatwonderful song.

I will not have white female singers monopolize my playlist. Here’s Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan. He’s the late great qawwali singer from Pakistan. He is cited by rockers in the 90s as an influence.

Afreen afreen

(Click photo for the video)

I first read about him as the person behind the Bandit Queen soundtrack. Qawwali is a religious type of singing wherein the singer would chant on in a seeming trance exulting the heavens. I don’t understand a bit of the song, but the beat is great. Also, the vocal prowess of Ali Khan is daunting and it may just be what heaven can sound like.

I am proud to say that I like Bollywood films. I like the campy epic-in-scale production numbers in these films. And I like club music. So, if you put the two together, you get Basement Jaxx‘s video for Romeo:

Bollywood forever!!!!!

(Click photo for the really cool video)

I love the dance steps and the song is just for me on my wedding! ahahahaha This song is not really romantic. It’s about a girl who has had enough of the dilly dallying of the guy. But still, with the upbeat of the song and the dance step, this has to be part of the playlist. I will require all my bridesmaids to dance like those dancing ladies!

Oh but I want some gritty tracks, too. My wedding is not complete with Nine Inch Nails. This is also my stripper song if in case I get a ripped body and decided to have a career change as a stripper, this song will be for my debut performance.

Great Video

(Click photo for disturbing video)

I love the video for this song. It is directed by Mark Romanek at the time when I consider to be the greatest era of music videos, the early 90s. Warning though, this video was banned because of its disturbing imagery. But this video still feels fresh and new amidst the current crop of contrived music videos that are just marketing machineries.

In a weird way, the lyrics are actually roamantic. Here’s the chorus:

I wanna f*ck you like an animal
I wanna feel you from the inside
I wanna f*ck you like an animal
My whole existence is flawed
You get me closer to God

I love Trent Reznor and his tongue. And he writes a mean love song, here’s the lyrics.

Say what you will about Kylie Minogue‘s Can’t Get you Out of My Head, but this song is my ultimate guilty pleasure! I think it is spot-on about obsession with a guy parallel to the infectious sounds. But I would rather have the cover versions for my wedding. Yes, my most favorite singer-writer-mental case Tori Amos did a cover of this song on the day Kylie announced she had breast cancer. It was her homage. And Coldplay is one of the coolest bands on the planet. So cool they didn’t care to about the rock gods had to say and did a cover of Kylie’s magnificent contribution to humanity. 

Now, I have part of the playlist….when’s my wedding?

Responses

  1. arent you the cutest! i just want to hug you, squeeze you, and call you “george”.

    i have to check out these songs. they sound interesting. as for my wedding soundtrack, hmmmmmm….you made me think, gurl. i fell in love with a Natalie Cole song, A SMILE LIKE YOURS, and i sing it to husband whenever i have the opportunity (which is always, hahahaha). that would definitely be in my soundtrack.

    my sister requested that i should sing BUTTERFLY KISSES by Robert Carlisle while she walks down the aisle. tangina, everytime i sing that song i fcuking end up crying! her father died when she was still a baby eh, hence she wants the song. (sniff)

  2. this is just part of my wedding soundtrack, I will include Dave Matthews Band and it’s NOT Crash into me… hahahaha. I’m still rummaging for Tagalog songs though.

  3. heh… ok sa pic nyo ni Ilog a. 🙂

  4. The intro of this entry is sooo hilarious… Whitney Houston inspired wedding!?! WINNER!!!

    And I’ve got to watch Edward II despite the fact that’s its dialogues would surely be like that of Romeo and Juliet… I’m sure I’ll be moved and will cry my heart out to that movie Ü


Leave a Reply

Categories

