Posted by: nastypen | December 4, 2006

It Came from the Next Cubicle!

I was checking the news just now and was pleased to note on the headline “US Marine guilty of raping Filipina.” I was pretty afraid on the reprisals in store to whichever the verdict will go.

I can’t help myself from indulging in a bit of a domino theory. Now that the American Marine is found guilty of rape, let me just run around with my stream of consciousness. There will be louder calls to disengage the Philippines from the Visiting Forces Agreement (VFA). America will be displeased by this. As retaliation, America will slash the financial aid to the Philippine Military. The Filipino soldiers and generals will not want this cut of cash flow. There will be restlessness in the ranks. Coup is in the offing. then, there will be synchronized bomb attacks (perhaps set by government troops?), thus having a spate of terroristic attacks that will make it seem that the country is in a downward spiral. Then, Martial Law will be declared. MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!!!!

I know.  My reaction has the viscosity of a mud flow, but still, right?  You never know in this f*cked up world of ours.

Nonetheless, I am quite pleased with the verdict. I still have to read the merits of the cases later.  But, I let out a yelp of joy when I saw that headline.

I remember my blood boiling when this rape case just started and women’s groups were rallying outside the American Embassy when this old American coot just jumped into the fray and started to yammer that the woman “deserved it.” It cannot be rape because the woman was a “sex worker! A prostitute!” Oh lordy, I was shaking with anger at that statement. The case was still sketchy at that time but that old bastard is like saying that SOME women are good to go to be raped because they deserve this.

Too bad, ignorance is not a crime punishable byt the death penalty.

Rape is rape is rape, bastard.

The women in the office and I were jubilant over the verdict although we are still skeptical as to whether or not the incarceration will follow through or if that person found guilty will be promptly shipped away by America.

Then the sole straight male in the office said, “You know what? I saw the rape victim’s face. Well, it was partially shown in the television and SHE IS UGLY! How can she be raped? Ang pangit nya!”

OH……NO…..HE……DIDN’T!

I sucked in air and let out a litany…”WHAT?!?!?! YOU MEAN TO SAY THAT ONLY PRETTY WOMEN HAVE THE RIGHT TO CRY RAPE?!?! AND ‘UGLY’ WOMEN CAN’T?!?! WHAT ARE YOU TRYING TO SAY?!?!?! JESUS!!!!!!!”

Well, this is the very same guy who just mentioned this morning that he had a teacher he liked “despite him being gay.  But it’s ok.  He’s gay but he got married to a woman.  So, he’s ok.”  WHAT?!?!?!?!?

The thing is, this guy is not out to irritate me with these thoughts.  It just so happens that this is his beliefs and he would just blurt them out nonchalantly with no malice.  This is scarier than hate mongers….to be comfortable in one’s ignorance.

God, there is always one in every office.

Responses

  1. Kakainis yun ah. He got off LUCKY with you. If that was me there might have been bloodshed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

